They call it Brighton, not Dimton

IMG_3003

I got to spend an afternoon in Brighton.  I strolled a British pier like I’ve wanted to do since forever (or since I found out that they existed when I first read Never Let Me Go).  It was appropriately windy and sunny with just enough brisk ocean spray to remind me of the beaches back home.IMG_3005

IMG_3006

I shielded my fish and chips from the seagulls balancing like kites on the wind.  Aggressive dirty assholes.

IMG_3008

We rode bumper cars with all the other kids under ten years old.  And beat the shit out of them.
IMG_3012 IMG_3018

I didn’t get any pictures of the lanes, but I now know where to go if ever I need to buy some cheap knitted sweaters or flannels.

IMG_3009

I’d like to return one day; take some time to sip a few more coffees, browse through second-hand racks, watch a sunset bundled in a blanket from the whipping wind.

One thought on “They call it Brighton, not Dimton

  1. Neat! Kind of like Coney Island … and Santa Cruz … and Navy Pier and they ALL have seagulls! I love your “wanderings” / “wonderings” … they are so you … so brave, Merida! You stood up to those seagulls!

What do you think?

