Here We Go

I planned on posting this before I left, but then I didn’t give myself enough time to proof read/ensure I didn’t sound like too much of an idiot, so I never got around to it.  Let’s all hold hands, suspend our disbelief and imagine that there’s still the mystery of whether or not I made it through these two weeks alive.

No matter how many times I have bullshitted it on my resume, with at least you, dearest reader, I will be honest: I don’t do details in my personal life. I’m all for having a plan (and lists.  I LOVE lists), but I’m also into straying from said plan if something more interesting comes along.

So the next few weeks should be very interesting.

I know that Santorini is made of blue roofs and white walls.  I know that Rome houses the Trevi Fountain and the Colosseum and, at one point, Lizzie McGuire.  Quite frankly, I hardly know a thing about Dubrovnik.  (Beaches, right? Game of Thrones?)  Our accommodations and modes of transportation are all mapped out (whether or not they go through remains in the hands of the universe) and although I have a vague idea of what’s to come…I really don’t.

I used to feel the pressure to travel ‘the right way’.  It was only after listening to a variety of people’s ideas on how to properly travel that there is no such thing. Some people visit museum after museum because they just love seeing a million paintings of baby Jesus.  Others like to stay in party hostels and wake up not remembering how they found the chicken that’s now laying an egg in their bed.

Well, I can only take so many paintings of bb Jésus, and as you probably know chickens are my mortal enemy.  So I’m just going to do it my way.  Whatever that is.

I’m all for taking the obligatory photo of an Oian sunset and the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain and whatever there is in Dubrovnik, but I hope to be able to find and enjoy the quiet moments in each city. Maybe a good cup of coffee, a faded street sign, a local shop owner’s worn out smile.

Maybe my style is wandering with a purpose, a camera, and the drive to eat delicious local food.

2 thoughts on “Here We Go

  1. Oh sweetie, just found your blog … 1 1/2 months later … Well, as always, you “do it yourself”, your own way … AND … I wouldn’t want it any other way … Keep venturing … and being my Merida. Now going to read the other posts.

What do you think?

